Hitting Shuttlecocks (Again!)

If not for this upcoming sportsfest in our office (which is a few days from now), I would not be able to step inside a badminton court again. That’s why I am so thankful of this upcoming activity. Not only I get a regular exercise but a chance to meet old badminton friends (Thong Guan Shuttlers) again.

On my first session, I made a point to take a picture of the court where years ago I was a regular visitor ( as in every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday). The moment I entered Summit Centre, memories started flooding back! Of course, I was a bit apprehensive also if my skill (if there’s any! hehehe) is still there.

The culmination of the session proved one thing. The skill is still there. But stamina, speed and consistency should be worked on.

Now, three weeks after that first session I believe there’s a huge improvement already. But still there are things that I should practice and remember always:

  1. On offensive position and when your in front of your partner, put up the racket always.
  2. In relation to number 1, grip your racket tightly and don’t put much effort when blocking the shuttles.
  3. Be conscious with the position of your partner when deciding the type of shots to play to your opponents.
  4. Stay relax and go with the rhythm.

I would like to thank Anna Rice for her instructional videos on YouTube. They were really really useful, too. There are other good videos there too I’m sure. I just don’t have the time to view them all.

Next week is judgment day already. I hope I will deliver. So help me God!

p.s.  The downside of these regular practices is that my time with my kids were shortened. It’s summer and supposedly, I should be home earlier than schooldays. But it didn’t and it won’t happen. 😦

Leave a Reply

