HEAVEN

Note: This entry was written by my wife, Eena

“Mama, ug ma dead na ta, i-bury na ta sa soil? Then musaka na ta sa sky? Magkita na dayun ta ni Banty sa heaven??!!! Ug ni Kevin? Ug ni Anna Manalastas?”

That was what Ryx said last weekend, with the part about Banty being said very enthusiastically. Of course, for those who watch the “100-days to Heaven” teleserye, you would know who Kevin and Ana are. I’m not really sure what started the conversation. May he just remembered that the character of Kevin recently passed away in the soap opera, or it was something else. But what really touched me was the simplicity that my Ryx looked at death. For him, dying was as simple as that, getting buried in the soil, then going up to the sky (where heaven is, according to his Papa.) and then the added bonus was seeing Banty, our pet dog, again, whom he saw last being buried in his grave after dying of UTI (we think.) As an afterthought, he also said, “Magkita napud ta ni Daddy Rene?” which of course I answered positively, yes, magkita pud ta ni Daddy Rene. And then after a split second, after realizing what we were talking about, I hastily continued:

ME: But dugggaaaaaayyyy pa kaayo na doy…kay dugay pa man ta ma dead.

Ryx: Dugay pa Mama?

Me: Yes, dugay pa kaayo.

Ryx: Kay dili pa man ta old Mama, nu? Dugay pa ta ma dead!

Me: Yes.

After that, I stirred the topic to less frightening thoughts (at least for me, they were frightening). I was trying to avoid where the conversation might lead. He would probably say next: “Si Mamu, Mama, hapit na ma-dead? Kay old naman sya...” Something which I’d rather not think about yet. Thankfully, my ploy worked and he forgot about what we were talking about.

He asked me once where heaven was, I said it’s a very faraway place, to which he countered, “Sa Dipolog?” to which I had to laughingly reply, no, not in Dipolog, or Basilan, or Cebu, or Manila, or Davao..basta, layoooooo kaayo! These are places which he knows, are far away since Ritche and I have been absent from the home on several occasions when we had to go on a trip in relation to work, sometimes, Ryx was lucky to have tagged along too. But he wasn’t very satisfied with my abstract description of where heaven was. Thankfully, his Papa solved that. Heaven is up there, in the sky. So, there!

Sometimes I wish we could look at serious things such as death and heaven the way children do. Although to be honest, I’d really rather not think about such things. Or maybe if I have to, I could look at it like Ryx does, in a positive way! It’s really true what the Bible says, we should be child-like for us to enter heaven. I’m not really sure if that’s how the passage went, but I think it’s something like that. I also wonder sometimes how we are supposed to explain to a very trusting child, the harsh realities of life. I can just imagine how it would hurt him, or dismay him later, once he realizes the world also has its dark side. What I can only hope and pray for is that no matter what situation he finds himself in the future, he will always have that little boy in him, who sees the good out of everything. The little boy who sees death as being able to see loved ones again, and not worrying about those who will be left behind. (maybe because he knows they will just follow eventually?).

But if the topic crops up again, I would have to gently, but firmly tell him that for now, Banty, Kevin, Ana Manalastas and even Daddy Rene, have to be patient. Hopefully, with God’s grace, we can still do many things to do here on earth, with his Papa, Baby Brother and all others, before we can go to heaven and see those who have gone ahead. And like the trusting person that he is, he would accept my statement and I can even imagine him adding, “with Dida and Lulu pud, Mama!”

eenskie 10/19/2011

10:55am

Leave a Reply

